Wednesday, December 15, 2010

My Little Helper {+more}

In the spirit of Christmas I have a little elf. I have recently started mowing the lawn. Since I never had to as a kid, I actually really like mowing the lawn. It is one of the few things you can do that is productive and you get instant results (I am a results kinda person). Luella, I guess, is a result kinda person too, since now she is mowing the lawn with me. She hangs onto the bag and walks with me. This makes "our" productivity a little bit slower, but I guess it is ok, I mean we are in our pajamas (not to mention it is like 3pm here!)
I can't believe that I almost forgot this in our Thanksgiving week update blog. We went to see "Yo Gabba Gabba" Live. It was so much fun. It was way more meaningful then I would have ever thought. Here's why...we could not have made it through this first year without this show. Whenever Luella is feeling sick and/or up all night long Gabbais the only thing that will settle her. This show has had such a significant part of our life, it make me wonder about our parenting skills a little bit, but what can I say...Aaron and I are a little bit weird. The remote control is called Gabba and so is the iPad. Luella loves the show and especially liked it live. When we were there, she would move her arms up and down and say "dance," then look at me and say "mama dance", and then to papa "papa dance." Gabba has totally taught her to love music and dancing, as well as taught her the word "Awesome"...awesome! I also think that Yo Gabba Gabba has taught her how to be very friendly to a diverse group of people. She is mostly like to "hi" when we are out and about to those who could look like a character from this show. People missing legs, others with big growths on their face. It has kind of taught me a lesson though. These are the people that are usually ignored. Not by Luella, and boy does their face light up when she says hi to them, it is kind of refreshing.


Right now little Lu is sick. She is getting 6 teeth and has ear infections in both ears. She has always struggled with congestion and today was the worse. She coughed and gagged so much that she threw up in the car on her way home from daycare (Lisa's). I immediately turned back around and had Lisa help me with the turkey, chunky, mucous mess. I know, gross. Hopefully, she will be feeling better soon. I have been so spoiled as a mother because Luella did not spit up as a baby and this was her first time growing up. I felt like I got my first "Mom Scouts" badge today. The Throw-Up Badge...oh the possibilities of the graphics of this one.

Luella, is definitely approaching her two's a little quicker then the rest. She is talking up a storm and starting with the tantrums. She likes to close her eyes at you when you are talking about something she does not agree (I think she thinks it make you go away) and she rolls around the floor and cries face down when she doesn't get her way (not too much kicking yet!). She got her first time-out at daycare this week.  She wasn't feeling good and she took it out on everyone else, especially the little 5 month old baby. Usually, at daycare she takes a lot of pride in taking care of the baby. If the baby is crying she will bring the baby every one of her toys and pile then on her lap and make sure that she has her pacifier. This day was opposite. She stole all her toys and threw them on the ground and kept taking the pacifier out of the babies mouth. When she was told no, she got made and hit the baby's leg. This = a time. I worry about this little one. The memories are flooding back at how frustrated I got with, well pretty much, everything, and I think that she is following my path. I will need to give her some good outlets and lots to do.

Finally, some fun little eye candy, you can barely see them, but I lover her sock. We don't get to go on stroller walks very often anymore...I spy a crunchies in this picture, pure bribery. She would much rather be pushing the stroller then me pushing her (I am sure this is very normal). She is very independent these days, but still loves a good cuddle. She usually checks in with a "hi mama", "love you" and a few kisses. She sits on my lap to read books and watch tv. She sings and dance and is turning into a very goofy little girl (just what her parents ordered). She likes to practice saying her ABC's, well kinda. It goes like this..."ABBB long pause, bladabladablada (tongue rolls), long pause, Q, long pause, double (for W) short pause, ABBB." Her and her papa practice talking everyday; things like Merry Christmas, Happy Birthday, See You, Love You, etc. But my favorite is still when she tells us "no, no, no" and her raspy giggle which means yes. She is a happy girl (unless she has 6 teeth coming in and ear infections) and she shows us so much love everyday.
Posted by Picasa

No comments: